University of Maine at Farmington Announces Dean’s List for Spring 2012 Semester


FARMINGTON, ME (July 27, 2012)—The University of Maine at Farmington announces its Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester. UMF maintains a Dean’s List each semester for those students completing a minimum of 12 credits in courses producing quality points. Students whose grade point average for the semester is equal to or greater than 3.8 are listed with high academic achievement. Students whose grade point average for the semester is less than 3.8 but equal to or greater than 3.5 are listed with academic achievement. Any incompletes must be satisfactorily completed before the student is honored with Dean’s List status. Academic achievement awarded at commencement is based on all course work taken at UMF.

More on University of Maine at Farmington

A nationally-recognized liberal arts college known for its commitment to student success, UMF provides a challenging yet supportive environment to prepare students for both careers and further study.

Bates Dance Festival wraps up 30th anniversary season with showcases of work by faculty, students

Bates Dance Festival wraps up 30th anniversary season with showcases of work by faculty, students

LEWISTON, Maine -- The annual "Festival Finale" and three other performances of work by faculty and students conclude the 30th anniversary season of the Bates Dance Festival from Wednesday, Aug. 8, through Saturday, Aug. 11.

A popular festival performance, "Moving in the Moment" takes place at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 8, in Bates College's Alumni Gymnasium, 130 Campus Ave. An exciting evening for the whole family, this free event comprises improvisational music and dance by contact improvisers Chris Aiken and Angie Hauser, along with festival artists in residence.

New for 2012 is "Performance in the RAW," an evening of works in progress fresh from the studio by artists in residence, starting at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Aug. 10, in Schaeffer Theatre, 305 College St. This event is also open to the public at no charge. The audience is invited to comment on the performances at the end of the evening.

Two performances on Saturday, Aug.

35th Annual Maine Student Film & Video Festival

35th Annual Maine Student Film & Video Festival

The Public Screening and Awards Presentation of the 35th Maine Student Film and Video Festival will be held Saturday, July 21, 2012, 12:30PM at the Waterville Opera House, Waterville, ME. The screening is free and open to the public. The screening of finalist and winning movies is held in conjunction with the 15th Annual Maine International Film Festival.  The Festival screening will be followed by a reception for the moviemakers at Jorgensenʼs, Main Street, Waterville.

MSFVF is open to Maine residents 19 years of age and younger. This year there were 26 movies entered from 18 schools and 93 students working independently representing the work of students in grades K-12 from all parts of Maine. The movies submitted to the Festival are judged on the basis of originality, content, style, and technique.

Kindergarten and Pre-K Registration for Fall 2012, Fiddlehead Center

It's never too early to help ensure your child's success in school. Fiddlehead offers several options for your family, including full or half day and a two-year kindergarten program starting at age 4.  Private pre-K and Kindergarten programs are offered in a bright and engaging facility in Gray, just 10 minutes from Windham, North Yarmouth, Raymond and Casco. Parents and students who wish to tour Fiddlehead Center are encouraged to visit our facilities. We welcome all visitors, and a staff member is always available to answer any questions you may have regarding our program. Please call the office at 207-657-2244 or e-mail us at for more information or to schedule a tour. Guests are welcome on a drop-in basis.

Administrator of the Year Award

Administrator of the Year Award

Foxcroft Academy Head of School Arnold Shorey has been selected as “Administrator of the Year” by the Executive Board of the Maine Association of School Libraries (MASL). He was surprised by this presentation at the school staff meeting on May 23.  Nancy Grant, a member of the MASL Board and Tina Taggart, also a MASL Board member and the Library Media Specialist at FA, made the announcement.  Mr. Shorey will receive a “Library Media Service Award for Administrators” plaque and a $500 donation to FA’s library media program made in his name.

The Library Media Service award is intended to honor administrators who, through individual leadership and sustained effort, have made worthy contributions to the operations of effective school library media services within the educational program.